The Start of Something New – The Musician’s Mindset #0

The Start of Something New

Welcome to The Musician’s Mindset, a new weekly blog form, where I will discuss everything I am doing to become a better musician and improve myself as a person while also giving you advice and challenges to improve along side me. These blog posts will usually be posted on Monday mornings. If you are interested in self-development, business, music, practice routines, or pushing yourself to be something better, this is the blog you want to follow. Every aspect of my life will be discussed. I’ll be tracking my practice time and finding ways to improve it. I’ll express thoughts regarding being a musician with a job and still being in school.

Each week I’ll be sharing content that I’ve learned from, whether it’s a book, song, or video, this content will explain the reasoning for my actions and hopefully motivate you to do more. There is content this week. This video explains why I am starting this new blog. Gary Vaynerchuk is a social media marketer and entrepreneur. Marketing is a major key to success in the music industry. He states that it is better to document rather than create. This blog is one way for me to document what I am doing as a musician.

Weekly Challenges

This is really where you will benefit from these blogs. I’ll be doing the challenges right along with you. I’ll be posting all the ups and downs on social media. These aren’t just guitar challenges either. These are self-discipline challenges. Some weeks will be harder than others. I’ll be sharing posts (on both Shred ‘ Till You’re Dead and Riff Nation) of those who take part in the challenge and upload a video to Instagram. Use the hashtag #MusiciansMindset.

This week I challenge you to track your playing time.

Monthly challenges

This are the bigger goals musicians have, play live more, make more money, have band practice, start writing more songs. The weekly challenges will help you on your journey of these challenges.

Learning Time

I’ll be tracking the amount of time I play each week and will be trying to focus on improving this time as much as possible. I recommend you do the same. Knowing how much you play can show you how much work you’ll need to put in later. This area will follow this format:

This week I played guitar for:

– 20 hours

Songs learned:

– Song name

– Song name

– Song name

What I’ve Learned:

– I’ll discuss everything I’ve done to learn and what I have learned.

Self-Development and Business

Each week I’ll be going over how I’m working to improve myself regarding social media marketing, business, health and more. I’ll be discussing everything from taking cold showers and exercising to how to slide into DMs to begin discussions with very cool people.

Social Media Posts:

– How many times I’ve shared my work through social media.

Song Recommendation

Every week I’ll recommend a song you listen to. You don’t have to learn it. I believe listening to different genres and artists sparks a great amount of creativity in myself and it might do the same for you. This week’s song recommendation is “This” by Ed Sheeran.

Thank You For Reading!

Riff nation! Thanks for reading this blog! Be sure to subscribe to be notified about the next post. If you liked this blog or it provided you with some value share it with a friend!

Make zero excuses;

-Matt, Shred ‘Till You’re Dead

Leave a comment